Free delivery from 120€ of purchase

Our House


A FAMILY HISTORY: THE HERITAGE OF THE AVANT-GARDE

Le Jardin Retrouvé is a timeless, independent, artisanal, family-owned House of Fine Fragrance that has inherited the avant-garde.

In 1975, Yuri Gutsatz, a renowned master perfumer, rejected the constraints of traditional perfumery dominated by marketing and became the first perfumer to found his own House. 

In 2016, Clara and Michel Gutsatz boldly reinvented Le Jardin Retrouvé, with a decidedly eco-responsible and digital approach, while retaining Yuri's delicate formulas and historical suppliers.

A troubling family coincidence

Yuri's father, David Gutsatz, was a chemical engineer in Saint Petersburg and, far from his son in France, worked on many of the synthetic ingredients essential to modern perfumery. Much later, Yuri learned that father and son - each without knowing what the other was doing - were at the same time contributing to the perfumery they loved so much, one in synthetic ingredients, the other in the construction of a new vision of the art of perfume !

A precious legacy...

Yuri left us his thousands of laboratory tests, his formulas since 1935, his involvement in the French Perfumers' Society, of which he was vice-president, and his participation in the creation of the Osmothèque (Conservatory of the perfumes of the past).

... and poetry

We also owe him an extraordinary volume of notes, as well as hundreds of poems about Russia and perfume, all preserved by his wife Arlette. It is thanks to her that we have inherited them and that we can share this treasure with you today.

An exceptional meeting

In 2016, perfumer Maxence Moutte joined the team to recreate the Yuri formulas, staying as close as possible to their composition. He met Clara and Michel at a wedding, where he expressed his admiration for Yuri's work. Thanks to this meeting, the perfumes were revived and a friendship was born. Maxence made his first creation for Le Jardin Retrouvé in 2018: the fragrance for the House of Mousse Arashiyama, followed by his skin scent in 2021, and another fragrance for the house, Osmanthe Liu Yuan.




Committed expertise since 1975

The raw materials we use are of high quality, we choose each ingredient ourselves without any price constraints. Whenever possible, we try to work directly with the producers. This is the case for tuberose, sandalwood and jasmine, for example, which come to us from India thanks to the family of a producer who worked with Yuri even before the creation of Le Jardin Retrouvé.

THE AGEING PROTOCOL

We have followed Yuri's precepts concerning quality and care in the elaboration of our perfumes to the letter. Thus, all our perfumes are subjected to 3 weeks of maturation (resting time of the concentrated ingredients), followed by 3 weeks of maceration (resting time of the perfume after dilution of the concentrate in alcohol). These stages are essential for the raw materials to fully and harmoniously express themselves.

MATURATION TIME

Ingredients such as Bulgarian Rose or Haitian Vetiver are weighed according to the Perfumer's formula and mixed in an aluminium pot, in which they mature for some time. This maturation determines the degree of subtlety and harmonious balance of a perfume. The standard perfume industry usually allows around one week for maturation. Following Yuri's protocol, our maturation time is three weeks to ensure greater finesse.

MACERATION TIME

Maceration takes place when the concentrate obtained from the maturation process is mixed with (organic) alcohol to create the perfume as it will be sold later. Perfume industry standards are usually around a few days for maceration, but Yuri was convinced that the optimal time was three weeks, so that's the time we chose for the maceration of our perfumes.

Road to the Clean

At the beginning of 2021, we decided to go one step further than eco-responsibility. We focused on our fragrances themselves and went as far as the Clean Beauty standards (CREDO Dirty List), well beyond what was recommended by the regulatory authorities of the profession. Our challenge was to maintain the same olfactory beauty that has made Le Jardin Retrouvé's reputation, while remaining true to our founder's legacy.

First we replaced the traditional alcohol with organic alcohol, then we changed the three ingredients we were using that were either bad for the planet - one of them was not biodegradable - or bad for health - one of them was a potential endocrine disruptor and another, allergenic. Maxence Moutte, worked hard to improve all the formulas involved while preserving the olfactory integrity of each fragrance.

After many tests - 17 were needed for Sandalwood Sacré over many months - and with the welcome help of the Givaudan Composition House, Maxence Moutte met the challenge: the fragrances now shine as they did in the past, and the levels of natural ingredients are now between 93 and 97% for each fragrance.

©Sébastiennotre

Art at the heart of our identity

Art is at the heart of the Jardin Retrouvé family identity. Beyond our founder, Yuri Gutsatz, a poet as well as a perfumer, there was his wife Arlette, a tireless designer of fabric patterns and creator of the brand's very first logo.



Clara, Arlette and Yuri's daughter-in-law, is also an international artist and a well-known author (under the name Virginie Michelet). It is thanks to her that each perfume is embodied by a garden, with its own visual, its video, its invented story. She has also designed an installation, a real multimedia olfactory journey, making the purchase of a perfume an artistic and multi-sensory moment.



Finally, as Creative Director, Clara has been infusing the brand with her ideas around enchantment and gardens since 2016, and leads collaborations with artists.

2021: a new identity

Since 2021, the centdegrés design and brand identity agency has been able to draw on the roots of our House to bring about our new identity, starting with our logo and symbol, which are models of their kind, evoking our name, the Enchanted Garden, its gateway and the water that springs forth to give life.

As for our crafted glass bottles - both the 50ml and its little brother the 15ml - they represent the gates of the Garden, with the added bonus of the symbol on the bakelite cap, a sign of durability. Needless to say, our bottles are more refillable than ever.



The illustrations on the secondary packs and on one side of the bottles were created by the centdegrés team for three of them and by the Jardin Retrouvé team (Clara Feder and Kaya Bagamaz, with the help of Fabien Adèle) for the other nine.



At the same time, the multi-sensory and multimedia experience imagined by Clara Feder was taken up and modernised by centdegrés chine, which built a similar new experience around perfume on a 9m2 surface for pop-up stores and exhibitions in China.





If you want to follow Clara on Instagram, it's here: @clarafeder to follow the young Belarusian artist Kaya Bagamaz, it's here: @kaya_bgmz

To see what centdegrés is doing, it's here: @centdegres and @centdegreschina Use this text to share information about your brand with your customers. Describe a product, share announcements, or welcome customers to your store.

THE RECOVERED GARDEN SEEN BY...

Clara Feder

Sébastien Notre

Kaya Bagamaz

Port offert à partir de 80€ d'achats - Paiement en 4X sans frais

Notre Maison

UNE HISTOIRE DE FAMILLE : L'AVANT-GARDE EN HERITAGE

 

Le Jardin Retrouvé est une Maison de Haute Parfumerie indépendante intemporelle, artisanale et familiale, qui a reçu l’avant-garde en héritage.

En 1975, Yuri Gutsatz, maître parfumeur renommé, rejetant les contraintes de la parfumerie traditionnelle dominée par le marketing, devient le premier parfumeur à fonder sa propre Maison. 

En 2016, Clara et Michel Gutsatz réinventent avec audace Le Jardin Retrouvé, dans une optique résolument écoresponsable et digitale, tout en gardant les délicates formules de Yuri ainsi que ses fournisseurs historiques.

Une coïncidence familiale troublante

Le père de Yuri, David Gutsatz, était ingénieur chimiste à Saint Petersbourg et, loin de son fils installé en France, a travaillé sur nombre d'ingrédients de synthèse essentiels à la parfumerie moderne. Bien plus tard, Yuri apprit que père et fils - chacun sans savoir ce que faisait l'autre - apportaient au même moment leur pierre à cette parfumerie qu'ils aimaient tant, l'un dans les ingrédients de synthèse, l'autre dans la construction d’une nouvelle vision de l’art des parfums !

Un leg précieux…

 

Yuri nous a légué ses milliers d’essais de laboratoire, ses formules depuis 1935, son implication dans la Société Française des Parfumeurs dont il était vice-président, et sa participation à la création de l’Osmothèque (Conservatoire des parfums d’autrefois).

… et de la poésie

 

Nous lui devons aussi un extraordinaire volume de notes, ainsi que des centaines de poésies sur la Russie et sur le parfum, toutes conservées par son épouse Arlette. C’est grâce à elle que nous en avons hérité et que nous pouvons aujourd’hui partager ce trésor avec vous.

Une rencontre exceptionnelle

 

En 2016, le parfumeur Maxence Moutte a rejoint l’équipe pour recréer les formules de Yuri, en restant au plus près de leur composition. Il a rencontré Clara et Michel à un mariage, où il exprimait son admiration pour le travail de Yuri. Grâce à cette rencontre, les parfums ont pu revivre et une amitié est née. Maxence a fait une première création pour Le Jardin Retrouvé en 2018 : la fragrance pour la Maison Mousse Arashiyama, suivie de son parfum de peau en 2021, et d’une autre fragrance pour la maison, Osmanthe Liu Yuan.

 

Un savoir-faire engagé depuis 1975

Les matières premières que nous utilisons sont de grande qualité, nous choisissons nous-même chaque ingrédient sans contrainte de prix. Nous tâchons de privilégier, lorsque cela est possible, un passage en direct avec les producteurs. C'est par exemple le cas pour la tubéreuse, le santal et le jasmin qui nous arrivent d'Inde grâce à la famille d'un producteur qui a travaillé avec Yuri avant même la création du Jardin Retrouvé.

LE PROTOCOLE DE VIEILLISSEMENT

Nous avons suivi à la lettre les préceptes de Yuri concernant la qualité et le soin pour l'élaboration de nos parfums, ainsi, tous sont soumis lors de leur fabrication à 3 semaines de maturation (temps de repos du concentré des ingrédients), suivies de 3 semaines de macération (temps de repos du parfum après dilution du concentré dans de l'alcool). Ces étapes sont indispensables pour que les matières premières puissent pleinement et harmonieusement s'exprimer. 

LE TEMPS DE MATURATION

Des ingrédients tels que la Rose Bulgare ou le Vétiver d’Haïti sont pesés selon la formule du Parfumeur et mélangés dans un estagnon d’aluminium, dans lequel ils maturent pendant un certain temps. Cette maturation détermine le degré de subtilité et d’équilibre harmonieux d’un parfum. L’industrie de la Parfumerie standard accorde habituellement autour d’une semaine à la maturation. En suivant le protocole de Yuri, notre temps de maturation est de trois semaines pour assurer une meilleure finesse.

LE TEMPS DE MACÉRATION

La macération a lieu à partir du moment où le concentré obtenu par la maturation est mélangé avec l’alcool (bio) pour créer le parfum tel qu’il sera par la suite vendu. Les standards de l’industrie de la Parfumerie sont habituellement autour de quelques jours pour la macération, mais Yuri était convaincu que le temps optimal était de trois semaines, c’est donc le temps que nous avons retenu pour la macération de nos parfums.

Le Clean

Début 2021, nous avons décidé d'aller un peu plus loin que l’écoresponsabilité. Nous nous sommes concentrés sur nos parfums eux-mêmes et sommes allés jusqu'aux normes de Clean Beauty (CREDO Dirty List), bien au-delà de ce qui était recommandé par les autorités régulatrices de la profession. Notre challenge était de conserver la même beauté olfactive qui a fait la réputation du Jardin Retrouvé, en restant fidèle à l'héritage de notre fondateur.

Dans un premier temps nous avons remplacé l'alcool traditionnel par de l'alcool biologique, puis nous avons changé les trois ingrédients que nous utilisions qui étaient soit mauvais pour la planète - l'un d'entre eux n'était pas biodégradable - soit mauvais pour la santé - l'un d'entre eux était un perturbateur endocrinien potentiel et un autre, allergène. Maxence Moutte, a déployé beaucoup d'efforts pour améliorer toutes les formules concernées tout en préservant l’intégrité olfactive de chaque parfum.

Après de nombreux essais – il en fallu 17 pour Sandalwood Sacré sur de nombreux mois – et l’aide bienvenue de la Maison de composition Givaudan, Maxence Moutte a relevé le défi : les fragrances resplendissent comme autrefois, et les taux d’ingrédients naturels sont aujourd’hui entre 93 et 97% pour chaque parfum.

©Sébastiennotre

L'art au coeur de notre identité

L’Art est au cœur de l’identité familiale du Jardin Retrouvé. Au-delà de notre fondateur, Yuri Gutsatz, aussi bien poète que parfumeur, il y avait son épouse Arlette, infatigable dessinatrice de motifs de tissus et créatrice du tout premier logo de la marque. 

 

Clara, belle-fille d’Arlette et de Yuri, est également une artiste internationale et une auteure reconnue (sous le nom de Virginie Michelet). C’est grâce à elle que chaque parfum est incarné par un jardin, possédant son visuel propre, sa vidéo, son histoire inventée. Elle a également conçu une installation, véritable parcours olfactif multimédia, faisant de l’achat d’un parfum un moment artistique et multi sensoriel. 

 

Enfin, en tant que Directrice de Création, Clara insuffle à la marque depuis 2016 ses idées autour de l’enchantement et des jardins, et mène des collaborations avec des artistes. 

2021 : une nouvelle identité

Depuis 2021, l’agence de design et d’identité de marque centdegrés a su puiser dans les racines de notre Maison pour faire advenir notre nouvelle identité, à commencer par notre logo et notre symbole, modèles du genre, qui évoquent à la fois notre nom, le Jardin enchanté, son portail et l’eau qui jaillit pour donner la vie. 

Quant à nos flacons de verre travaillés, aussi bien le 50ml que son petit frère le 15ml – ils représentent les portes du Jardin, avec en prime le symbole sur le bouchon en bakélite, signe de durabilité. Est-il utile de préciser que nos flacons sont plus rechargeables que jamais ?

 

Les illustrations qui décorent les packs secondaires et l’un des côtés des flacons ont été faites par l’équipe de centdegrés pour trois d’entre elles et par l’équipe du Jardin Retrouvé (Clara Feder et Kaya Bagamaz, avec l’aide de Fabien Adèle) pour les neuf autres. 

 

Dans le même temps, l’expérience multi sensorielle et multimédia imaginée par Clara Feder a été reprise et modernisée par centdegrés chine, qui a construit une expérience similaire inédite autour du parfum sur une surface de 9m2 pour des pop-up stores et expositions en Chine.

 

 

Si vous voulez suivre Clara sur Instagram, c’est ici : @clarafeder pour suivre la jeune artiste biélorusse Kaya Bagamaz, c’est là : @kaya_bgmz 

Pour voir ce que fait centdegrés c’est ici : @centdegres et @centdegreschina 

LE JARDIN RETROUVÉ VU PAR...

Clara Feder

Sébastien Notre

Kaya Bagamaz